Elections for India's 15th President on July 17

EC to supply special pens for presidential poll

Special pen for voters in July 17 presidential poll

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi will announce the date for Vice Presidential elections later. Leaders from across the Opposition camp have held talks on who should succeed Pranab Mukherjee as President.

To be noted is the fact that YSR Congress' Jagan Mohan Reddy has said that they will support the BJP.

"Political parties can not issue whips to their MPs or MLAs in the voting of presidential polls", the chief election commissioner said.

This year, the presidential poll will be a closely fought contest as the country's main opposition parties are uniting to put up their candidate against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) choice.

UK police release people arrested after London attack without charge
The Metropolitan Police are examining what is believed to be Molotov cocktails in the van used by the London Bridge attackers. Rowley said: "While formal identification is yet to take place, detectives believe they know the identity of the attackers".

Addressing a press conference to announce the schedule, the chief election commissioner Nasim Zaidi said that for this election, the commission would issue the notification on June 14. MLCs of states with legislative councils are not part of the electoral college.

He said that if polls needed, it will be held on July 17 and the counting will be done on July 20. 12 nominated members in Rajya Sabha are also ineligible.

A total of 13 vacancies in Lok Sabha and state assemblies will be filled up after the presidential elections, he said. The term of Mukherjee as the President commenced on July 25.

Zaidi said the ECI was taking all necessary steps to ensure free and fair elections to the office of President of India. Last time, it was the secretary general of Rajya Sabha.

Latest News