Edmonton's Connor McDavid wins first Hart Trophy as NHL MVP

Golden Knights have options to build team in variety of directions

Here are the new Adidas uniforms for all 31 NHL teams

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP.

McDavid, who like Gretzky and Crosby wins the Hart in his second National Hockey League season, took his place in the queue Wednesday.

Edmonton Oilers center Conor McDavid was the victor of the Hart Trophy after winning the scoring title with his league-high 100 points off 30 goals and 70 assists.

The Hart Trophy, then, is just the latest in what's sure to be a long line of career-long accolades for McDavid if the young Oilers standout's 2016-17 campaign was any indication of what's to come.

Bobrovsky led the National Hockey League in goals-against average and save percentage while backstopping the Blue Jackets' revival.

McDavid is the third-youngest player to win the award. Bobrovsky led in goals against average (2.06) and save percentage (.931). If that seems slim, consider this: only eight players are in that group, with Crosby, Evgeni Malkin and Alex Ovechkin reaching triple figures three times each, and Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Patrick Kane, Nicklas Backstrom and McDavid each reaching the 100-point plateau once.

Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's rookie of the year.

Dutch government partially liable in 300 Srebrenica deaths
The Mothers of Srebrenica want the relatives of all the men murdered in the enclave's fall to be eligible for compensation. The Hague Appeals Court upheld a decision from 2014 that ordered the Dutch state to compensate families of the victims.

Former No. 1 pick Sidney Crosby is still grabbing Stanley Cups, but two more recent top picks look poised to grab their share of the NHL's spotlight. The game also promises the most co-op and competitive multiplayer options "ever delivered in a sports game", according to EA.

Later in the night, Burns of the San Jose Sharks took home the Norris Trophy as the top defenseman.

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins holds the Frank J. Selke Trophy after winning the award during the NHL Awards, Wednesday, June 21, 2017, in Las Vegas.

Jack Adams Award: The Blue Jackets' remarkable year was headed up by Tortorella, and the fiery bench boss only adds to his impressive resume with the second Jack Adams Award of his career. Bergeron joined Hall of Famer Bob Gainey, who presented the award, as the only players to win the Selke four times. Coming off of an injury-shortened rookie season where he scored 16 goals and 48 points in 45 games, many were expecting big things from the 20-year-old phenom in his sophomore season.

Matthews, a near unanimous choice (164 of 167 first-place votes) beat out forward Patrik Laine of the Winnipeg Jets, and defenseman Zach Werenski of the Blue Jackets.

Calgary Flames Johnny Gaudrea was awarded the Lady Byng Trophy for his sportsmanlike play beating out Minnesota's Mikael Granlund and St. Louis' Vladimir Tarasenko.

Ottawa goalie Craig Anderson won the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. This will be the first time the series has seen something like this since the Nashville Predators game into the league (the mode was offered in NHL '99).

Latest News