U.S. biology trio wins Nobel Medicine Prize


Nobel Prize in Medicine 2017 awarded to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young of US

The 2017 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine has been awarded to three US-born scientists; Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael Young. Michael Young was born in Miami and worked at Rockefeller University.

Hall was born in New York, Rosbash in Oklahoma City, and they both worked at Brandeis.

At the announcement, the Nobel committee said that so far they have not been able to contact Young yet to tell him of his prestigious award, but that when they contacted Rosbach the scientist was apparently flabbergasted and simply replied: "You are kidding me!" "There are also indications that chronic misalignment between our lifestyle and the rhythm dictated by our inner time keeper is associated with increased risk for various diseases".

Circadian rhythms adapt the workings of the body to different phases of the day, influencing sleep, behaviour, hormone levels, body temperature and metabolism.

It is what causes jet lag - when our internal clock and external environment move out of sync when we change time zones.

This year's Nobel prize for medicine is a triple win for the USA, which boasts the most Nobel prize winners.

Legendary Red Wings announcer Dave Strader loses battle with cancer
He previously was the broadcaster for the Detroit Red Wings , Arizona Coyotes and Florida Panthers and worked three Olympic Games. Hockey is a very close-knit sport and the Stars' organization was quick to show their support to Strader.

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to three researchers for discovering how our biological clock actually works.

The researchers and were able to isolate a gene in fruit flies that controls the daily biological rhythm.

When will the other Nobels be announced?

Who won the 2016 Physiology or Medicine Nobel?

The Nobel laureate of Karolinska Institute in Stockholm this morning revealed names of winners of an award that honored Yoshinori Ohsumi previous year.

Latest News