The League of Nations: Ukraine starts in division B

Martin ONeill

Martin ONeill

Based on the coefficient rankings after the group stages of the European qualifiers for Russian Federation 2018, sixth-ranked England are in league A, while Wales (14th), Ireland (19th) and Northern Ireland (21st) are in league B, and Scotland (27th) are in league C.

Division B: Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine, Ireland, Sweden, Northern Ireland, Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic and Turkey. Teams in League A will be split into four groups of three, with the group winners then contesting the UEFA Nations League Finals (semi-finals, third-place match and final) in June 2019 to become the UEFA Nations League winners.

UEFA's Nations League is created to replace "meaningless" friendly internationals with competitive matches against teams of similar standing.

The top four-ranked League B teams that do not qualify for Euro 2020 will enter play-offs in March 2020, with one finals place on offer.

The UEFA Nations League also offers one country from each league the chance to reach Euro 2020 (via an extra playoff) if they do not make it through the normal qualifying process.

Monday's defeat against the Republic of Ireland proved costly in terms of missing a World Cup European Qualifier play-off spot, and it also meant they were leapfrogged by the Netherlands in UEFA coefficient, dropping them out of the top 12.

Germany, Portugal, Belgium and Spain are the top seeds and can not play each other, with France, England, Switzerland and Italy in pot 2.

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare is getting Halloween-themed content
The Halloween Scream event will add Gesture Warfare until October 12, where players use nothing but gestures to take out enemies. During Halloween Scream , you'll be gifted a free Halloween-themed Supply Drop at the beginning of each week.

Leagues A and B will each comprise four groups of three teams.

The draw of the League of Nations on 24 January 2018 in Lausanne.

Teams will be split into one group of three and three groups of four.

Serbia, who qualified for the World Cup, are down in Group C with the likes of Bulgaria, Slovenia, Hungary and Greece.

March 2020 will see the play-offs for Euro 2020, with the final tournament to be held in 13 cities across Europe, including Dublin, in June-July.

Teams in three-sided groups will play on four of the six matchdays.

Teams will be drawn into four groups of four. Qualifying for Euro 2020 will not begin until March 2019.

Latest News