Win 1 for the skippers: Molitor, Lovullo honored

Dave Roberts Finishes Second for National League Manager of the Year

Fantasy Baseball Breaking News

Lovullo is only the eighth skipper to capture a Manager of the Year Award in his first full season as a Major League manager - but this is actually the fourth consecutive season with a first-year victor.

Lovullo, who is the seventh manager to win the award in his first season as a manager, guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 season-a 24-win improvement from 2016.

How's that for a rookie campaign?

Lovullo wins the award as a first-year manager just as Roberts did following the 2016 season. The Twins lost the wild card game to the Yankees.

Roberts, who led the Dodgers to the majors' best record (104-58) this season, received five first-place votes and was runner-up, while Colorado's Bud Black received three first-place votes and finished third.

OnePlus Phone Backdoor: Devices Shipped With Factory App That Can Root Devices
If it's there, anyone with physical access to your device can exploit EngineerMode to gain root access on your smartphone. Robert Baptiste, a freelance security researcher who goes by the name Elliot Alderson on Twitter after the Mr.

In voting by BBWAA members, Molitor finished with 112 points (18 first place votes) followed by the Indians' Terry Francona with 90 points (11 first place votes) and Houston A.J. Hinch with 56 points (one first place vote).

Among the other managers who received first-place votes was Dusty Baker of the Washington Nationals, who received one and finished fifth in the voting. Nobody expected a postseason berth for the Twins - perhaps not even their front office, because they were sellers at the trade deadline.

Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins was named Lovullo's counterpart as the American League Manager of the Year. The Yankees Joe Girardi finished fourth with 12 points.

Molitor, who was elected to the Hall of Fame as a player in 2004, is the second Hall of Famer to be named Manager of the Year. The prize was announced Tuesday on MLB Network.

Latest News