First Day of Winter: 4 Fast Facts

Winter Solstice

Today is the official start of winter and the shortest day of the year

Alabama's coldest weather typically comes in January. On the Winter Solstice the Sun's most direct rays are over the Tropic of Capricorn in the Southern Hemisphere. In the Northern Hemisphere, where most of the world's population lives, the winter solstice marks the shortest day of the year and the longest night. In the United States, it happens at 11:28 a.m. ET Thursday (10:28 a.m. CT, 9:28 a.m. MT, 8:28 a.m. PT).

"It's an ad hoc celebration that brings together England's New Age Tribes (neo-druids, neo-pagans, Wiccans) with ordinary families, tourists, travelers and party people - 100's of them!" In fact, Earth is closer to the sun during winter than it is in summer months.

What's the difference between a solstice and an equinox?

Your daily daylight depends on your latitude, and Here Comes the Sun is based on the latitude of San Francisco.

That for many spots in Alabama falls in January.

Fifth flu season death in San Diego region reported
York said the clinic bills nearly every insurance provider, including Medicare and Medicaid. Three flu deaths were reported in the last flu season that ended in May.

With the sun positioned so far to the south the tilt of the Earth leaves the Arctic Circle entirely in the dark.

The winter solstice occurs when in the Northern Hemisphere, which includes the US, is tipped at its furthest point away from the sun.

Winter solstice is on December 21 each year When is the winter solstice in 2017?

There will be one to two more seconds of daylight on Friday, and the days will progressively get longer until the summer solstice in June, also known as the longest day of the year.

And why is the Earth tilted? Others, say it's a landmark for visits from space aliens.

Latest News