Instagram is testing screenshot alerts for stories

Instagram will now warn users when you screenshot their post

GETTYInstagram will now warn users when you screenshot their post

The new feature is similar to the way Snapchat operates - the app gives users a notification if someone takes a screenshot of their snaps, but rather than a specific notification, Instagrammers will have to manually check in the analytics tab.

One of Snapchat's trademark features has always been the fact that it notifies the sender of an image if the recipient has taken a screenshot of your image.

As you know, the popular Stories feature on all most all every social media that supports it has a short span of life.

If you haven't been warned about screenshots in the app, it might not have dropped for you just yet. The first time a user attempts to take a screenshot of a story they will see a prompt that says the next time they screenshot a story the creator will be able to see. While the overall number of Facebook users in the United Kingdom will reach 32.6 million this year - far more than Snapchat, Instagram or Twitter can claim - the drop among younger users means Facebook's "teen issue" is more than just a theory, said Bill Fisher, an analyst at EMarketer.

Deepika Padukone's highest grossing films: From Padmaavat to Race 2
She donned a red and white colored saree by Sabyasachi which she teamed with a black blouse. Ranveer has, however, preferred to keep the amount the same as what Deepika charges.

Good bye freedom to screenshot IG stories. There's also a chance of some users ending up watching lesser stories over time. Anyone could take a screenshot of someone's photo or story without notifying the creator.

Earlier, the alerts for screenshots were provided when someone would take a screenshot of a private direct message.

It's easy to imagine that Instagram is testing whether this new feature would impact how often users share Stories on the platform and decide to roll it out widely if it finds no noticeable drawbacks and diminished user engagement. Where a new camera shutter logo present next to anyone, means that the person had taken a screenshot/screenvideo of the story.

Latest News