New Zealand wins toss, bowls in tri-series T20 vs. England

England batsman Dawid Malan

Malan is the top England runscorer in the series with 119 including two fifties

New Zealand won the toss and chose to bowl first.

England are pointless in this tri-series yet still have a chance of reaching the final against Australia.

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl in the crucial Twenty20 match against England in Hamilton on Sunday. Skipper Eoin Morgan returns for England in place of James Vince.

However, Morgan played a superb finishing role hitting four sixes in the final overs with cameos from David Willey (10), Liam Dawson (10) and Chris Jordan (6 not out) helping England reach 194 for seven in the 20 overs.

Guptill then picked up where Munro had left off, reaching his second Twenty20 worldwide century in 49 deliveries before Tye had him caught by Maxwell at deep midwicket to leave the hosts 212 for three in the 17th over. Get live cricket score of New Zealand vs England, Tri-Nation T20 series in Auckland here. England actually won this game by two runs, their first victory from four matches, but they did not do so in comprehensive enough a manner to overtake New Zealand's net run rate.

Snowboarder Ester Ledecká wins surprise gold in Olympic super-G
Austria's Anna Veith won the gold medal, Liechtenstein's Tina Weirather won the silver and Suitzerland's Lara Gut won the bronze . Ledecka stared at the clock in disbelief after posting her winning time and later told reporters what was going through her mind.

The spinners Rashid and Liam Dawson (1-27) applied brake to the scoring rate and as a result the pressure was too much to withstand for Kane Williamson (8), who went about with a strike-rate of under 62.

The 31-year-old had only just returned from a groin injury that kept him out of England's 12-run loss to New Zealand in Wellington but was brilliant at Seddon Park, hitting six sixes, while Dawid Malan also struck 53.

Fifth T20I Australia beat New Zealand by five wickets.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Mark Chapman, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Seifert, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi.

Latest News