Tripura assembly elections: Voting underway amid tight security

BJP supporters Tripura-PTI

Contest in Tripura: It's BJP's development push versus CPM's peace dividend

Hours before Sunday's assembly elections in Left-ruled Tripura, the Election Commission has appointed a Special Observer while the authorities have sealed the global and inter-state borders with Tripura.

The polling will end at 4 p.m.

However, political developments in Tripura in 2016 and 2017 have set the stage for their first face-to-face battle as the saffron outfit has emerged as the key opposition party in this Communist-ruled northeastern state. The Left Front and the BJP have fielded candidates for all the seats while Congress will contest all but one seat.

The polling in the reserved Charilam seat of the state has been rescheduled to March 12 due to the death of CPI-M candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma, media report said.

State Director General of Police Akhil Kumar Shukla said security measures had been put in place across Tripura for the Assembly polls. The party had not fielded a candidate from the Kakrabon constituency in Gomati district.

Counting of votes will be held on March 3.

Winter Olympics: Elise Christie faces 'fight against time' to make 1000m
But there was crushing disappointment once again for Elise Christie , who crashed in the semifinal of the 1,500m in short-track speed skating and was led from the rink on a stretcher.

The BJP is contesting 51 seats and has left nine seats for ally IPFT.

One woman voter in one of the booths at Kumarghat town said, "I will go back home, cook food and return again in the afternoon to cast my vote". Altogether 23 women candidates are in the fray in this year's elections.

He further said that the Left party wass attacking the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) workers in the state as it is scared of its defeat in the elections. Other Left leaders like Sitaram Yechury and Brinda Karat also supported the party's campaign. Three hundred companies of central armed forces have been deployed across Tripura along with state armed personnel and the police, he said, adding the Border Security Force is keeping a close watch along the 856-km-long in Tripura in the Indian side on the border with Bangladesh.

The BJP has already formed governments in Assam, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh.

Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) - has been in power in the state for the last 25 years, with incumbent Chief Minister Manik Sarkar at the helm for the past 19 years. It will be sarkar's record fifth term as CM if he wins this time around.

Latest News