FM Jaitley files nomination for Rajya Sabha elections in Lucknow

Congress extends support to BSP candidate for Rajya Sabha poll

Congress backs BSP candidate for Rajya Sabha polls

In Gujarat where it has fielded an extra candidate, the party hopes to bank in on the discontentment among the Congress leaders.

When asked about the delay, Rathwa told reporters that he had to obtain one of the papers required for filing his nomination.

On Monday, a high drama played out for five hours outside the office of Returning Officer A B Karova with rumours that Congress leader Rajeev Shukla will file nominations instead of former Union minister Naran Rathwa. On Sunday, BJP released a list with 18 names, while Congress released the list with 10 names who will be contesting for the upcoming Rajya Sabha.

Jha, who is the party's national spokesman, said, "Politics in the country today is a fight between fascist, dictatorial forces represented by the BJP and its allies, and socialist, democratic forces which we represent".

Among the names cleared by the Congress are Amee Yagnik and former Union minister Naranbhai Ratwa from Gujarat, Dhiraj Prasad Sahu from Jharkhand, and Rajmani Patel from Madhya Pradesh, party general secretary Oscar Fernandes, and Porika Balram Naik from Telangana. Its workers and leaders are not happy with their leadership.

Putin says he ordered 'hijacked' plane to be shot down in 2014
The massive twin-engine MiG-31 remains the fastest operational fighter capable of clocking a top speed close to Mach 3. The farmers here say it's no big deal for the animals as they grow a new pair of antlers each year.

Terming them as a "no holds barred" choices, Congress sources said that careful considerations of caste combinations were at play while selecting its candidates. The Congress, which has 120 MLAs, can send at least two MPs with 45 votes each.

"Over the past four years, Rajeev Chandrashekhar has become a people's person and has put a positive spin to the BJP's campaign in Bengaluru's urban and rural districts", the source added.

Other key candidates include a retired Lt. Gen. close to Congress' ex-Haryana CM Hooda, and two of its own general secretaries.

AICC Media Spokesperson Naseer Hussain was chosen to replace long-standing Congress candidate K Rahman Khan. The ground situation Eight candidates filed their nominations on Monday. If any candidate does not get 41 votes of first preference, Ms Rahatkar will get all the BJP and Sena MLAs' votes of second preference and might win the elections, according to a BJP leader. BJP has 99 MLAs while Congress has 77 in the Assembly.

BJP candidate Anil Agarwal, however, appeared confident that he will be able to mobilise additional votes as the party's ninth candidate. "Election of a candidate for RS should be without any opposition".

Latest News