Complete list of BJP, Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

In the 245-member Upper House of Parliament Uttar Pradesh has 31 seats being the most populous state of the country

In the 245-member Upper House of Parliament Uttar Pradesh has 31 seats being the most populous state of the country

The Congress candidates are former Union minister Naran Rathwa-a tribal leader-and Ami Yagnik who is a lawyer and a media face for the party.

The BJP list includes former Congress leader and former Maharashtra CM Narayan Rane, Rajasthan's Kirodi Lal Meena who rejoined the BJP Sunday, and Rajeev Chandrashekhar who has been an independent MP in Rajya Sabha.

In Kerala, MP Veerendra Kumar, who walked out of Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) previous year, filed his nomination as an independent candidate. The Rajya Sabha elections are scheduled for March 23, 2018. Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats has been necessiated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the Trinamool Congress and Tapan Sen of Communist Party of India-Marxist will end on April 2. Three nominated members - actor Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and social worker Anu Aga - will also retire then. While the party's Dalit face PK Valera filed his nomination as an independent candidate, Sonal Patel, who heads the State's Mahila Congress, offered to resign and shot off a letter to the national president of the party, citing personal reasons to be relieved from the post.

The party has fielded Rane from Maharashtra, Jain and Rao from Uttar Pradesh, Pandey from Chhattisgarh and Baluni from Uttarakhand, according to a party statement. The Congress has fielded Dr L Hanumanthaiah, Dr Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrasekhar.

This 3D Printed Small Concrete House Costs Just $10000
The first family could move into their 3D-printed house in the second or third quarter of 2019. The printers can create a 3D structure using different materials, including food, cement.

In Gujarat, the Congress state general secretary P K Valera staked claim as an Independent prompting the BJP to field former MLA Kiritsinh Rana as the third candidate to make things hard for the Congress.

Mainly because, the JD (S) had been counting on the Congress Party's support towards their candidate, BM Farookh, which was shattered away, after the Congress party announced their choice of candidates as nominees to win seat from Karnataka.

The party has nominated senior lawyer Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal. "This might split the votes of Congress MLAs". Congress leaders said its candidates were in the fray to keep its flock intact. However, the fight will be between the third candidate of the Congress and JDS's Farooq.

Pradhan and Gehlot are Union ministers while Singh and Soni are BJP office-bearers. Leader of the Opposition Ajay Singh, state Congress chief Arun Yadav and other leaders were present.

Latest News