RJD Wins Jehanabad, Ahead in Araria; BJP Retains Bhabua

Araria By Election Results 2018 All You Need To Know

The Araria by-poll result is seen as a test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD's Tejashwi Yadav

Counting of votes for the by-election to the Araria Lok Sabha constituency and two assembly seats in Bihar is underway under tight security arrangements. He recently quit the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and joined the alliance of RJD and Congress. Manjhi hails from neighbouring Gaya districts and wields significant influence in Jehanabad. Party candidate Pradeep Sinha is ahead by over 1,500 votes after the second round of counting was concluded by the Election Commission. Alam, who crossed over from JD (U) to Lalu Prasad's party RJD to contest the bypoll, is the son of Taslimuddin.

The by-elections are important because political parties, both ruling and opposition, have tried a new political experiment in these three bypolls to Lok Sabha seats.

# Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 1437 votes with 7600 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel 6163 votes after round 3. In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, where bypolls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent respectively, Bihar's Chief Electoral Officer Ajay V Nayak said.

Now RJD is leading by 8,899 votes.

Google to ban Bitcoin, other cryptocurrencies advertisements from June
There has been an increase in bad ads/sites removed in 2017 compared to 2016. They dictate what ads are acceptable, and what aren't acceptable.

The results of bye-elections in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar will be declared on Wednesday.

BJP combine and the opposition RJD-Congress alliance were locked in a battle on the three seats.

RJD was also leading by more than 15,000 votes in Jehanabad assembly seat, where the BJP's ally JD (U), headed by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, has fielded its candidate. After this victory, West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo-Mamta Banerjee gave a congratulate to RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Twitter.

There is direct contest between Taslimuddin's son and RJD candidate Sarafaraz Alam and BJP's Pradip Singh, who had won the seat in 2009 - when BJP and JD (U) were in alliance - and finished runner-up in 2014.

Latest News