I don't mean any disrespect, says Phil Mickelson after hitting moving ball

VIDEO Phil Mickelson Hits Moving Ball Out of Frustration at U.S. Open

VIDEO Phil Mickelson Hits Moving Ball Out of Frustration at U.S. Open

And Phil Mickelson, one of the legends of the sport.

Mickelson - who was also celebrating his 48th birthday - explained the move after the round.

That's too bad. It's on him, yes. It's likely going to stay a two-stroke penalty, although David Fay did point out that while unlikely, it could be interpreted as conduct unbecoming and result in a DQ. "He didn't rob a freight train", as my dad might have said. I think you see it in different sports people do these wacky things.

If in that moment you kill somebody, then no.

Mickelson, who is well out of contention for victory, said he knew the action would bring a two-shot penalty, and that he had hit the ball to prevent it from rolling all the way off the green and behind a bunker.

"I think knowing the rules is never a bad thing".

Fowler had his man's back when asked if he felt Mickelson's actions were objectionable. Our capacity to measure it in the context of a long, positive career, and to forgive. She and Phil did not have time to properly reflect on what happened. TMOF heard from detractors Sunday hoping to see Davis take the fall for making a mess of Shinnecock Hills.

Brooks Koepka, the defending champion, has seemed to come back a bit after an up-and-down start.

Former Oregon LB Fotu Leiato found dead in Eugene
Police spokeswoman Melinda McLaughlin says the Kia sedan driven by a 22-year-old man rolled off the road at 2:30 a.m. He was arrested for the act which was his final strike with Oregon Football and he was dismissed from the team.

His reaction after his par putt fell at No.13 recalled Mickelson's most celebrated celebration, after he sank a putt and earned his first green jacket, in 2004. He ran a few steps toward it and hit it before it stopped, sending it by the hole back to near where he originally putted from.

"That's stunning", broadcaster Joe Buck said. "And that's all I can really say about it". I've had multiple times where I have wanted to do that, I just finally did it.

The USGA invoked Rule 14-5 which states a player "must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving". There was zero question Mickelson did what he did on goal.

"Sometimes it gets a little goofy, sure, but it's all within the rules", he said. It appeared that he took 8 strokes before the two-stroke penalty was added.

He walked off that green with a big loopy grin, which probably didn't help. "You can always use them in your favor".

Mickelson has work to do if he wants to be in the conversation on Sunday, and the birthday singers aren't the only ones rooting for him.

With the penalty he racked up a sextuple bogey 10 at the par-four hole - although it took some minutes for the scoreboard to catch up with him.

"I don't see how", he said. We all laughed. But that wasn't Mickelson.

Latest News