UEFA reveals shortlist for best player award

Cristiano Ronaldo Salah and Luka Modric

Cristiano Ronaldo Salah and Luka Modric

While this is the first nomination for both Modric and Salah, it would be the fourth time Ronaldo has picked up this award, if he goes on to win.

While Messi has been ignored, Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo were shortlisted for the top UEFA award.

His former team-mate in Madrid, Modric, was a World Cup runner-up with Croatia and the victor of the FIFA Golden Ball.

For Modric, he enjoyed a fantastic season, winning the Champions League alongside Ronaldo, as well as finishing runner-up at the World Cup and claiming the Golden Ball.

Last but certainly not least sees Liverpool's Egyptian king Mohamed Salah round off the nominees for Player of the Year.

The midfielder has been the subject of transfer speculation recently, with Inter Milan said to be interested in his services.

WUT: Rudy Giuliani Declares "Truth Isn't Truth"
This is obviously very high level and sensitive information but is part of Russian Federation and its government's support for Mr. Oliver explained that in fairness to Giuliani the gaffe wasn't even the worst thing that he said in the interview.

The 33-year-old averaged a goal a game last season, scoring 44 goals in as many appearances.

There are some noticeable absentees from the nomination list, with Lionel Messi the obvious name.

Messi, whose Barcelona side crashed out of the UEFA Champions League to Roma in the quarterfinal, could not secure points ahead of the trio.

The Portugal star is the current holder of the award having won it three times in the past four seasons.

Other players who could consider themselves unfortunate not to have made the list include World Cup victor Kylian Mbappe and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne, with their lack of success in the Champions League again possibly a factor.

The victor of the prestigious award will be named - along with the UEFA Women's Player of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners - during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August.

Latest News