Modric threatens to end Ronaldo-Messi era as world’s best

Luka Modric named best male player at Best Fifa Football Awards

Modric sees off Ronaldo & Salah for Player of the Year

Modrić is expected to win the award after playing a huge part in taking Real Madrid to a third consecutive Champions League and Croatia to a World Cup final.

"This trophy is not just mine".

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among the judges for a new award created to recognise the world's best young player.

Among the coaches, interim Argentina boss Lionel Scaloni plumped for Messi, while Brazil's Tite overlooked local hero Neymar in favour of Modric, Mohamed Salah and Ronaldo.

Salah's goal in Liverpool's 1-1 draw against Everton was a mixture of strength and footwork.

She also scored 13 goals as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL playoffs.

Gareth Bale, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, Benjamin Pavard, Ricardo Quaresma, Denis Cheryshev, Lazaros Christodoupoulos, Giorgian de Arrascaeta and Riley McGee are the other nominees, for the Puskas Award for goal of the year, with Messi the favourite for his World Cup strike against Nigeria.

The 33-year-old was voted Player of the Tournament in Russian Federation as well as at the FIFA Club World Cup - with the latter one of his four trophies in addition to the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup and the Supercopa de Espana.

His World Cup campaign was marked by drama off the pitch.

General election would be ‘people’s vote’ says Labour chancellor
Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn and other party chiefs oppose the idea, saying Labour must honor voters' 2016 decision to leave. That may well win favour with well-heeled London-based members of the party, who overwhelmingly voted to stay in the bloc.

"Messi and Ronaldo are fantastic players, but this year is the year of Luka". Ronaldo also scored a memorable hat-trick in the FIFA World Cup but did not progress beyond the round of 16.

"I would like to thank those who voted for me".

Meanwhile, Didier Deschamps won Men's Coach of the Year ahead of Croatia's Zlatko Dalić and Zinedine Zidane.

Dani Alves grabbed one full-back spot, with Real Madrid trio Rafael Varane, Sergio Ramos and Marcelo completing the defence.

Salah netted 44 goals in all competitions for the Reds last season, scooping up the Premier League Golden Boot as well.

However, a shoulder injury suffered early on in the final robbed him of the chance to help Liverpool lift the trophy and also meant he wasn't in peak condition to lead Egypt's World Cup bid.

The event took place in London on Monday evening.

6 - Modric is the sixth different Real Madrid player win the prize, passing Barcelona for the outright record.

Latest News